Is Lactose targeting people ?

LACTOSE FREE DIET

Lactose is a type of sugar found in milk and most milk products. it is blamed for many allergies to young children and adults.

I think lactose is innocent of the accusations of allergies. my clinical practical experience dictates that the culprit is a protein found in dairy products that causes allergies (itch, bloating, gas, hives,swelling of the joints, pain in joints, headaches, migraines, abdominal pain, fatigue, ADD, ADHD).

in the past 25 years i have treated allergy cases focusing on the treatment of heavy proteins with children or adults suffering from (itch, bloating, gas, hives,swelling of the joints, pain in joints, headaches, migraines, abdominal pain, fatigue, ADD, ADHD) and had removed the condition completely. Among these cases a case of a two month infant receiving only breast milk from her mother that she developed a severe eczema and weeping eczema all over her body so that there was no skin surface not affected by eczema or weeping eczema). Her condition was not responding to a pharmaceutical ointments. While I focused the treatment on the symptom free mother, I also treated the infant with vegetarian enzyme over three months. The infant showed approximately 90% improvement in the span of three months on a treatment that addressed only a protein.

Foods high in lactose and dairy protein include:

  • milk
  • hot chocolate
  • goat’s milk
  • buttermilk
  • ice milk
  • ice cream
  • pudding
  • Butter
  • Margarine
  • yogurt

Foods lower in lactose but still high in dairy protein include:

  • evaporated milk
  • frozen yogurt
  • sherbet, cheese
  • yogurt
  • sour cream
  • whipping cream
  • half and half cream.

Prepared foods made with milk or milk products may include lactose and dairy protein including:  

  • commercial gravy or sauce mixes
  • vegetable or chip dips
  • soups
  • chips or snack crackers (e.g. cheese or ranch flavored)
  • sugar substitutes made with lactose (e.g. equal®)
  • artificial whipped toppings
  • powdered meal replacement supplements

 What about milk free?

If you have a health issue that dictates you have to avoid milk and milk products all together, look for and avoid the following on labels:

  • whey (allergy trigger)
    • all whey solids
  • dried milk solids
  • non-fat dry milk
  • casein
  • caseinate
  • butter
  • margarine,
  • cheese
  • cheese food
  • curds
  • lactose
  • latalbumin
  • lactate solids.

What are some milk substitutes?

Milk substitutes are rice milk, coconut milk, hemp milk, soy milk or almond milk. These liks can be found in any supermarket. Also these milk substitutes can be used in any baking/cooking recipe (use same amount as would milk), or even water can be used instead of milk or milk substitute (will have to add a few tablespoons of oil to recipe if using water instead of milk). Soy milk is the most popular substitute however, many females are concerned about estrogen over stimulation or soy sensitive that may cause migraines, skin issues, and abdominal discomfort.

 What about calcium?

Some people believe that milk is the best source of calcium. They also believe that lack of dairy milk means lack of calcium and may lead to calcium deficiency. This is not the case at all. Although milk is a good source of calcium, but calcium can also be found in high amounts in green leafy vegetables such as spinach (also contains high iron), kale, and collard greens. These vegetables supersede dairy milk when it comes to calcium availability.

 What about butter?

Butter contains a minute amount of lactose and can be tolerate in small amounts in individuals with milk sensitivity. One way to make butter lactose free is to make clarified butter, or “ghee”. Ghee is made by simmering (low setting, to prevent butter burning) unsalted butter in a cooking vessel until all water has boiled off, the milk solids have settled to the bottom, and a froth has floated on top. After removing the froth, the cooked and clarified butter is then spooned off or tipped out carefully to avoid disturbing the milk solids on the bottom of the pan. Ghee can be stored for extended periods without refrigeration, provided that it is kept in an airtight container.